WTA Finals Shenzhen and WTA Elite Trophy Zhuhai to switch spots on the calendar; Thailand Open and Palermo Ladies Open included on 2019 calendar; 46th year of the WTA features 55 events in 28 countries

ST PETERSBURG, FL, USA – The WTA has released its calendar for the 2019 season. The 46th anniversary of the WTA will see players compete at 55 tournaments and four Grand Slams across 28 countries.

The changes for the 2019 season include the WTA Finals Shenzhen and WTA Elite Trophy Zhuhai switching weeks on the calendar, with Zhuhai now coming before the WTA Finals. The calendar will also include two new International level events. Hua Hin, Thailand will host the Thailand Open the week of January 28 (week 5) and the Palermo Ladies Open will return after a five-year gap in week of
July 22 (week 30).

The Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships will return to Premier 5 status as the Qatar Total Open (Doha) returns to a Premier event, and the Rogers Cup will shift locations to Toronto from Montreal. In both cases, the calendar switches from year to year, with Doha and Dubai alternating Premier 5 status and the Rogers Cup moving between Toronto and Montreal. The JiangXi Open (Nanchang) will move to the week following the US Open, from week 30 to 37 on the calendar (week of September 9).

2019 marks the 46th year since the WTA was founded by Billie Jean King in 1973, uniting all of women’s professional tennis under one tour. Since then, the WTA Tour has grown to more than 2,500 athletes and $146 million in prize money to be played for at events around the globe.

The Top 8 singles players and doubles teams of the 2019 season will earn their position to compete at the 2019 WTA Finals Shenzhen, the home of the season-finale event for the next 10 years.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here